Not the OG, but still good

Original

redux-gen-2

The second generation of Skins is great, but I worry it’s only relevant because it is being compared relative to the other generations. I loved the third (this is sadly not a general consensus), but I struggle with going back and rewatching the show. Now, I’m stuck on season 2, so I’ve switched to Gilmore Girls, which I love. But anyways, I thought of this piece not because the cast is the first one (the cast pics are kind of low quality), but because Skins is such an original show. It’s unlike anything I’ve ever watched- more raw, yet not gaudy or too much. It’s tragically honest, and I can’t help but wonder what the show would be like if Bryan Elsley and Jamie Brittain made the show now. Obviously clothes would be different, but would the dynamics change? Would the problems be as severe? I’m glad I don’t have to find out- the original was enough.

Leave a Reply

