its fox mulder’s world we’re just living in it

trust-no-one

Artificial

My latest project involved setting up a scene in a box and photographing it, blurring the line between real and surreal. It wasn’t as successful as I would have liked, but considering my lack of interior design and construction skills, I’ll take it. I chose Mulder’s apartment from The X Files because I recognized it the most, and I couldn’t for the life of me imagine where I’d find the right red velvet for Twin Peak’s The Red Room. I think my muses are getting a little trite, so next project will hopefully include Gilmore Girls or something I haven’t based a project around. This piece came from my favorite image, even though I had hoped that the flashlight effect would be evident (it wasn’t). It was originally horizontal and there was way more black space (I kind of like this blending into the darkness effect), so I added a little embellishment in the form of one of the show’s many taglines. Nonetheless, it seems kind of plausible considering the number of scenes Scully enters Mulder’s apartment to tape the X to his window (why? I have no idea). Looking at it now, the X is way too big, but we can’t all be perfectionists. I mean its avril lavigne’s world we’re just living in it, right? Anyways, I’m glad something somewhat good came out of this project. It took me two runs to secondhand stores, 3 weeks and several near-tear experiences to construct and photograph this project.

Leave a Reply

