manipulation creates martyrs

shadow-of-death

Martyr

I love my subscription to Time like any other person, but there’s something about getting the 100 Most Influential Images of All Time edition that fascinated me. It’s old yet high-quality photos with context and photographers’ statements. What interested me most was probably Saigon Execution, because it made Nguyễn Văn Lém (right) a martyr when I saw it, even though he’s on the opposing side. Reading photographer Eddie Adam’s comments and seeing other negatives brought tears to my eyes. To realize how misleading and influential still photos can be, how they can unintentionally follow General Nguyễn Ngọc Loan (left) for years just really moved me. This piece uses 7 photos from the 100, and it’s just a reminder to me of how quick we are to judge.

Leave a Reply

