take it easy

winter

Relax

I rarely talk about myself (when it doesn’t pertain directly about graphic design) on this blog, but I’m excited to announce that I’m done with the college admissions process and even more pumped for my next four years at WashU! I am suddenly so grateful for all the events I’ve missed in the three-and-a-half years, since it got me where I am now. I like to think that even the most embarassing of moments have somehow led up to my interest in graphic design (and thus business, which I’m excited be pursuing at Olin!). My dad and I didn’t believe I was admitted (to Olin, especially), so he made me save the website and take screenshots and everything, but my letter and t-shirt came in the mail so it’s official 🙂

That being said, I don’t know if it’s the lasting effects of college frenzy or perhaps Casey Neistat’s influence on me, but I can’t seem to relax this break. During the frenzy that accompanies the closing of a semester, my mind wanders around to thinks I’ll finally get to during the holiday. I have lofty goals, from learning Arabic to fixing the typewriter I got for $4.25, though I end up sitting on my bed for hours upon hours. This winter break should be the most restful of the past four years, but I can’t even focus on a movie or TV show for more than 20 minutes. I no longer have to worry about ACT or SAT scores, but I still have practice sheets floating around my room. It almost sounds like I’m bragging about never having to take a break, when in all actuality my entire day is technically a break, but not a satisfying one.

I think I just need to figure out how to focus. Decide if I want to rewatch Gilmore Girls, continue It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia, or read Catch-22.

But also, the prompt made me think of this Mika song.

Leave a Reply

